Christian, Lifestyle

Will you stand when the wicked fall?

I do not own the rights to this photo.

Psalm 91:7 KJV
A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

One of my favorite verses of Psalm 91. I can’t tell you why, but it has been since I was a little kid. It has always felt like the best promise a Father could give his daughter. My parents divorced when I was young and I lost my Prince Charming. I had no one to protect me and consequently, all of the rotten stuff happened in my life. So when I heard Psalm 91 for the first time, it spoke so deeply to my soul. All I ever wanted in my life was to be safe and protected. Not all women can hold it down without a man in the house and that’s just facts. My mother was one of them, despite whatever she believed when she divorced my father. It wasn’t until I was much older that realized that my father would not have been the hero I had imagined him to be either. So I clung to this chapter even more. I got teary-eyed every time we read it in church. You don’t really realize what Jesus did for us on the cross until you realize it. He took on death and the grave so we didn’t have to. He gave up his life for us and reconciled us to our heavenly Father.

God always planned to redeem us back to him. He never thought about just leaving his children out there. There would have been no point in creating us if that was the case. So when we choose him, it comes with perks and I love it. Whatever goes on in the world, as long as I am faithful and obedient, he’s got my back. He won’t forsake me. He will keep me from destruction. So when the wicked start to fall as his wrath and judgment are executed, his children will still stand. We will be hidden and protected. Just as it was for the children of Israel when the angel of death went through Egypt, it will be for those of us who believe. So, don’t let the enemy take your joy. Don’t let him sap your energy. Keep standing on the word and the promises of God. He will not let you down.

It’s time to choose the kingdom of God is at hand. Will you stand or fall with the rest?

Leave a comment