Christian, Lifestyle

You were never last

Matthew 19:29-30 KJV
And every one that hath forsaken houses, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name’s sake, shall receive an hundredfold, and shall inherit everlasting life. [30] But many that are first shall be last; and the last shall be first.

Oh boy!! I needed this! Y’all don’t know how bad I needed this. I promise I don’t know how the disciples endured. It’s too much. To be called to such a great calling is mentally, physically, and spiritually draining. Crying and praying and trying to study to stay focused, reading the word is tiring. Being patient is tiring, lol. Wanting to save everyone that you held dear is tiring. Not everyone wants to go. Not everyone can handle what is coming or even care. A lot of people, especially since 2020, just want life to go back to normal and it will never be normal again. Not for nonbelievers and believers alike. The word warns us in Matthew 10:35-49, 35 For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. 36 And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. 37 He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. 39 He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

I remember as a child, when we found out that my great-grandmother had cancer I was told all I could do was pray and make her comfortable. I remember my prayers were always that I would see my whole family in heaven. That’s what I had been taught; pray for your family and I’ve held on to that, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve come to realize that everyone does not want what you want. don’t understand what you understand, or care about what you care about. Including family. It used to baffle me when we would sing I’m On My Way to the Canaan Land and one of the verses said, If mama don’t go, won’t hinder me…and I was distraught like why wouldn’t my mother be going? So, as a child, my prayers became more fierce in that area. I couldn’t imagine not seeing all of my family in heaven when Jesus comes again. I guess I’ve held on to that because I have stayed in situations with family I have endured situations for family. I have fought hard to try to keep everyone together and on the same page, nobody realizes or appreciates it, but that’s how I spent my life and I’ve been praying heaven down for some of them. Only to realize that not all of them want to go. Having to realize that I can’t save everyone. There is a point in the bible when the Lord tells the prophet not to pray for those people because it will do no good. They won’t understand until they suffer my wrath and he ain’t listening. That is where God is with some of our families and friends and there is nothing else we can do. We can’t save everybody, but those of us that tried; those of us who have endured and pressed in and prayed will be rewarded.

For everything you lost, it will be returned. For every injustice, God will repay. For every plot and plan, for every time they allowed the enemy to use them, the Lord will return it to them. It’s nothing to brag or boast or even be happy about, but God is about to change some circumstances around. The ones that have been looked down on and ridiculed have found favor in the eyes of the Lord and will be blessed. He is dropping blessings that no man can take credit for. He is elevating the least likely suspects because people counted them out. Those who held on until the end and did not conform to the world, are about to be catapulted to the front. Your day of redemption and restoration is near. Just hold on.

Leave a comment